RSS

Watson, Edge, and the Confounding Pokeberry Hunt, or, Gosh, Have I Really Been This Neglectful?

17 Sep

Hello, there, folks. I’m still alive. Sorry about the month-long absence. This regular trips to the library thing really isn’t good for my blogging habits.

Anyway, I’m back, and I’m really happy about the weather here in Missouri. Today I went for my first wander through the fields since June. It was wonderful. I was listening to Watson & Edge’s Tears of Joy album and I had no aim in my rambles except A., Don’t Encounter Any Spiders Under Any Circumstances and B., Keep an Eye out for Pokeberries. It was the most peaceful experience I’ve had (except for the constant worry about spiders) in a while. I took lots of pictures, and the computer is running like a dinosaur now because of the extra windows I’ve got open.

IMG-20140916-00293I found this funny old thing by the creek that runs through our land. I have absolutely no idea what it is, but it’s weird and I liked it.

IMG-20140916-00299 I don’t know what these are either. Possibly in the bluebell family? It’s all Greek to me. (Cue my mother berating me for learning nothing from the botany course I took four years ago)

 

IMG-20140916-00308Our dear old creek bed

 

IMG-20140916-00312Another view of the creek bed. I like the way this one turned out.

IMG-20140916-00317This one’s a fair bit blurrier, but it’s a nice view all the same

IMG-20140916-00321And now we have our lovely little hillside for picnics… never mind the fact that this little hillside is nearly a vertical one.

IMG-20140916-00323This was taken from eye-height, and I’m about 5’4”. The grass is REALLY TALL.

IMG-20140916-00325And now we’ll look at a happy little tree…

IMG-20140916-00326…and a really old storm shelter. I can’t exactly remember how old it is, but I think the date carved on the upper right hand side is somewhere around October, 1911. Or 1913, or something like that. I think I remember a seven. I could be totally wrong.

IMG-20140916-00332

I also discovered some abandoned outerwear by the storm shelter. A Santa Claus hat and a pink plaid jacket, to be exact.

About twenty minutes after that, I discovered that I had sat down with my feet in a pile of ants. They didn’t look particularly happy to see me, so I tromped home to shake my clothes out before the ants got higher than my socks.

Anyway, I’ll shut up now. Evelyn, having started part-time enrollment at the local public school, has to be up at some ridiculous hour, and I’ve got to be up to babysit the others while Mom drives her to school. Don’t worry, I’ll try to be better at this blogging thing. Thank heavens for my friend Regan though… She reminded me today that it had been a month since my last post, motivating me to type/upload all this to alleviate some weird sense of guilt. I don’t understand it, and I don’t try to. The workings of my mind are a mystery that I’m not going to start poking at any time soon. Okay, I’ll actually shut up now.

Eleanor

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Confessions of a Hopeless Introvert

I'm orally inarticulate, so I'd rather write than talk.

Arafly Arts & Life

The pursuit of crafts, fitness and beer.

The Mostly Confused Teenager

Trying to feel less muddled

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Mary C. M. Phillips

Caffeine-induced epiphanies and occasional literary musings

Austenprose - A Jane Austen Blog

Join the celebration of Jane Austen novels, movies, sequels and the pop culture she has inspired

Radical Notion

feminism: noun; the radical notion that women are people.

Guys, Life, Stuff

my Words, my Life, my Thoughts

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Dawne Webber

A place to confabulate.

Plot Whisperer

The Making of a Story

Sammi Talk

Words From A Not So Ordinary Girl Living A Pretty Ordinary Life

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

