RSS

Discontinuing Atlantis

15 Aug

No, not some weird science/fantasy thing I’ve decided to write. Though that could be fun. It’s actually a yarn colorway offered through Knitpicks. They’re having a sale right now on their Chroma Worsted line so they can make room for a bunch of new colorways. I find it a bit funny that when they could be discontinuing the grey or black or bittersweet heather colorways, they are discontinuing the Atlantis colorway.

Anyway… um… Hold on. My train of thought went careening into a ditch.

Oh, yeah! I finished a level of math today, Teaching Textbooks’ Math Seven, which took absolutely forever even though I schooled through the summer, and it was outrageously painful the whole darn time. Now I get to figure out how the heck we’re going to wrangle things so I can start pre-algebra. (What idiot decided to put letters in math? That was the stupidest idea since country music.)

Also, I finished Going Postal, by Terry Pratchett. For an expert fraud, I have to say that Moist von Lipwig is one of the most enjoyable discworld characters since Sam Vimes and Nanny Ogg. My dear friend Regan (Hello! Do tell me how your shawl-ish thing is coming along, as soon as you can get to a computer!) will be happy to hear that I promptly started the first book in the Youngest Templar trilogy. She will probably be less happy to hear that for whatever reason, Critiquing/Editing Eleanor has been activated, and post-it notes and index cards have been recruited for rather extensive note-taking purposes. It’s a pretty good book, and so far I’d definitely recommend it to anyone interested in Medieval-y Crusade-y books, but regrettably the fact remains that the word ‘okay’ did not exist until the 1940s, and only in America for several years. It took a while for it to catch on in other countries. It did not exist in 1191 England.

It could be that it’s just irking me because Moby Dick has been dreadfully slow these past few days, and I’m starting to see why people kind of cock their heads to one side and smile these funny, worried little smiles at me and say, “Well… Okay…” when I happen to mention that I’m reading Moby Dick for literature.

As a story, it’s great! It’s a swashbuckling tale of retribution and revenge and all that stuff, with interesting characters, and a well-thought-out plot.

But really… I could have done without two or three or four whole chapters on the difference between a Right Whale’s head and a Sperm Whale’s head. Don’t get me wrong, I like big complicated books that I can sink my teeth into, even if I sometimes have to read a paragraph-long sentence five times before I get the basic gist of it… But this is a little nuts.

Sigh. Three chapters a day, and I should have it done in about nineteen days. I think I can make it. In the meantime, I have to go to bed, because it is horrifically late here in Missouri, and I am tired, so I’ll try to write a blog post with some actual purpose tomorrow or the next day, and for now I’ll just shut up. 🙂

Eleanor

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Confessions of a Hopeless Introvert

I'm orally inarticulate, so I'd rather write than talk.

Arafly Arts & Life

The pursuit of crafts, fitness and beer.

The Mostly Confused Teenager

Trying to feel less muddled

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Mary C. M. Phillips

Caffeine-induced epiphanies and occasional literary musings

Austenprose - A Jane Austen Blog

Join the celebration of Jane Austen novels, movies, sequels and the pop culture she has inspired

Radical Notion

feminism: noun; the radical notion that women are people.

Guys, Life, Stuff

my Words, my Life, my Thoughts

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Dawne Webber

A place to confabulate.

Plot Whisperer

The Making of a Story

Sammi Talk

Words From A Not So Ordinary Girl Living A Pretty Ordinary Life

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

